skip navigation
Rhino rugby logo 1

Rugby World Cup Sevens - San Francisco in 2018

03/24/2017, 10:00am EDT
By CW Hoffman

Rugby World Cup Sevens 2018 in USA will be the first edition of the showpiece tournament since its debut at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

San Francisco 2018 will be the seventh edition of the global tournament and the third to feature both men’s and women’s competitions.

The first tournament was held in Murrayfield in 1993 and took place every four years up to 2013. The tournament was then moved to 2018 to fit in the middle of the Olympic cycle and will continue on a four-year cycle.

New Zealand are the defending champions in both events after their successes in the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow in June 2013. The All Blacks Sevens beat England 33-0 in the men’s final, while their female counterparts beat Canada 29-12.

In May 2015, USA Rugby was awarded the hosting of Rugby World Cup Sevens 2018. The men’s and women’s events will run side by side at AT&T Park in San Francisco in July 2018.

The men’s tournament features 24 teams split into six pools of four with the pool winners and two best runners-up progressing to the quarter-finals.

The women’s tournament comprises 16 teams in four pools of four with the top two in each pool progressing to the quarter-finals. 

Tag(s): News